Vienna Opera Tickets

    Shostakovich / Khachaturian / Brahms

    Shostakovich / Khachaturian / Brahms

    Tugan Sokhiev will conduct virtuoso pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet and the renowned Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (DSO Berlin) in an evening of enlivening music at the Great Hall of the Konzerthaus. The performance will take place on 18 March 2015 with works by Dmitri Shostakovich, Aram Khachaturian and Johannes Brahms.

    Tugan Sokhiev took up the baton as Music Director of the DSO Berlin for the 2012/2013 season. In 2014 he was appointed Principal Conductor of the Bolshoi-Orchestra in Moscow and Music Director of the Bolshoi-Theater. Guest conductor roles have taken Sokhiev to many of the world's leading orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Fondazione Arturo Toscanini and the symphony orchestra in Bournemouth, as well as performances with radio orchestras in Stockholm, Frankfurt, Helsinki, Paris, Tokyo, Turino and Vienna.

    French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet studied at the Paris Conservatory where he was awarded the Premier Prix du Conservatoire. Other accolades include the Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres and Italy's Premio Pegasus from the Spoleto Festival. In 2014 he toured with Mariss Jansons and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and appeared at the Edinburgh International, Lucerne and the Ljubljana Festivals. Thibaudet's reputation and legendary technical dexterity has prompted invitations to work with such prominent orchestras as the St. Louis Symphony, New York Philharmonic, the Naples Philharmonic and the Cleveland Orchestra.

    The programme for this concert will begin with Dmitri Shostakovich's Ballet Suite No. 1, followed by Aram Khachaturian's Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D-Flat Major, Op. 38. The performance will be brought to a rousing conclusion with the Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73, by Johannes Brahms.

    Performers :
    Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev  
    Piano: Jean-Yves Thibaudet 
    Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin


    • Dmitri Shostakovich:
      • Ballet Suite No. 1
    • Aram Khachaturian:
      • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D-Flat Major, Op. 38
    • Johannes Brahms:
      • Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

    image Tugan Sokhiev / Source